Beiarn Folk Museum
Experience history in the beautiful museum in Beiarn! Idyllically located by the popular salmon river, we take you on a journey back in time.
The farm is located on the historic rectory from 1857 and consists of 12 authentic farm buildings from the 18th and 19th centuries. Explore great exhibitions with old tools, household items and a traditional farmyard that provide a unique insight into rural life.
During the season it is possible to have a cup of coffee, or shop in our museum shop, where we have the Arstadringen for sale. There are also opportunities to bring barbecue food and take a break in quiet and beautiful surroundings.
Availability
Toilet on the 2nd floor without elevator access
Exhibition on the 2nd floor without elevator access
Free parking
Museum shop and simple dining
Opening hours and ticket prices
Opening hours summer season:
24 June - 8 August: Wednesday-Saturday at 11-15
Ticket prices
Adults 90 NOK
Students and seniors 70 NOK
Children and young people under 18: free
Groups (10+) 70 NOK per person.
Our exhibitions
We offer guided tours of our exhibitions at the Vicarage, in Molistua and in the yard.
The exhibition "Gustav Moldjord's collections" is the foundation of the village garden's collection. Gustav Moldjord was a young boy who wanted to preserve Beiarn's history. At just 18 years old, he began collecting old objects from around the municipality. He transported the objects in a small cart that he pulled with him. In the end, the collection consisted of 166 objects. We have now gathered, dusted off and refined Gustav Moldjord's collection in an exhibition. The collection shows a wide range of Beiarn's history and at the same time tells the story of a young enthusiast who wanted to preserve history.
The exhibition "Once upon a time..." is about living traditions and traditional knowledge. Here you will highlights both from music, storytelling tradition and traditional crafts.
On the museum there is also an A-Ford vintage car from 1930 (the so-called Rønnåbakk-Forden), which has been restored by Skrotnissan in Gildeskål. The car is in use on special occasions during the summer season, and can otherwise be viewed stationary.
This is happening
History of the museum
The rectory has a long history. In 1853, Beiarn became its own parish. As a parish, it also had to have its own priest, and its own rectory to house him.
There was a heated discussion about where the rectory should be located. The village's elected officials finally decided that it should be located by the river at Dokmo. That way, the priest's people could provide transportation across the river to Soløy or Moldjord.
Dokmo was already a large farm at that time, consisting of one self-owned farm and two tenant farms. The largest tenant farm had its main building right here where the main house now stands. It is said that these tenants were given three weeks to move out. When the deadline came, and they had not yet moved, the workers came and began to tear off the roof of the house. The tenants now had to settle for becoming household servants under the priest, with a permanent work obligation at the rectory.
The magnificent rectory was completed in 1857. The houses that the tenants had to leave were converted into outbuildings for the rectory. Here we can mention a magnificent four-seater outhouse, with one child's seat, one seat for the household and two seats for the servants. Several outbuildings and farm buildings were of course also erected.
A total of 14 priest families have lived here. The priests and their families came as immigrants to Beiarn. At that time, the priests had a relatively low salary, so farming was part of their income. From the sources we can read that the priests took up farming with great enthusiasm. Several brought their own farm tools and even their own servants to help them with the operation. Parish priest Karl Vilhelm Piene was the first in the village to acquire motorized agricultural equipment, a two-wheeled tractor that ran on kerosene. He also tried his hand at rabbit farming on Slagøyra, an islet that belonged to the rectory. Unfortunately, there was a flood in the Beiarelva River that same autumn, and all the rabbits drowned except for one who was found alive.
The rectory also played an important role during the German occupation. After the bombing of Bodø, evacuees were accommodated on the farm. In addition, they were required to accept 30 girls from the parish, who were to work on the farms in the village where help was needed. However, not many people took advantage of this help. Down in the basement, the priest had hidden a radio in a potato bin to hear the latest news from London.
Parish priest Leif Sjølie and his family were the last to live here (priest from 1967 – 1974). In this large, drafty house, up to 12 fathoms of wood a year were previously used for heating. The electricity bills became enormous after the introduction of electricity. The house was not attractive to move into, and eventually a new vicarage was built in Moldjord.
In 1988, Beiarn became Folk Museum opened. Of the houses on the farm that stand today, only the priest's residence, an older storehouse and an outbuilding belonged to the rectory. The barn, built in 1905, also belonged to the rectory, but is now separate. The remaining buildings have been moved here from other farms in Beiarn.
Today, the rectory is still alive and well. Every summer, interested visitors can hear the exciting history of the place.
Booking
Would you like to book a tour of Beiarn? Folk Museum Please contact us in good time. Fill out the form by clicking the button below for booking inquiries and practical clarifications.